The school of engineering (Technology for tomorrow) – Merit awards

The merit awards ceremony is quite a prestigious event on the Engineering calendar as it acknowledges all those students who performed well in the previous year. The Merit Award is based on academic achievement and performance for study of a formal programme. The qualification must have been obtained with a weighted average of 75% in the minimum prescribed period and candidates must have passed all modules at the first attempt.


The master of ceremony for the night was none other than Prof Theo van Niekerk, senior lecturer for Mechatronics. Prof Pat McGrath, Director of the School of Engineering, welcomed all guests and Allison Rademan, Industrial Engineering Manager at Continental Tyre Port Elizabeth, was the guest speaker for the night.  The certificates and prizes were handed out to all the deserving students and all guests enjoyed some refreshments after the ceremony.


Below is a list of all the students that was rewarded for their hard work in 2012:


Industrial Engineering

Special awards





Abdiel Tchamnda

Nomore Musikavanhu

Luck Wait

Gloria Kavita

Matt Roux

Kudzanai Tsatsire


Asanda Kolisi

Francois Muller

Frederik Viviers


Jason Meyer




Odirili Modie




Odwa Namntu




Mbambeleli Petse




Fezile Pikoli




Mantombi Wali


Operations Management





Andre Blom

Ian Bosch

Lucien Delmar Bakker

Zolela Joya

Estelle Coetzee

Craig Bouah

Keegan Fillis

Vuyolwetu Maqanda

Dale Gravett

Adam Briesies

Orlando Maart

Ntombozuko Mat

Brian Hendricks

Michael Damons

Patricia Pauls

Zandile Ngozwana

Enrico Norris

James Ferreira

Schalk Rossouw

Nozuko Ontjies

Doctor Twalingca

Dhalip Gunpath



Carl van Rooyen

Metho Jack




Thembisa Kayingana




Davian Norris




Leewin Peters




George van der Merwe




Damien Wimcomb





Best Project in Productivity Level I – Cabin Mathew

Best Project in Productivity Level II – Luke Wait

Best Industrial Project in Operations Management – Lucien Delmar Bakker

Best Pneumatic Control Systems student in Industrial Engineering – Luke Wait

Best NDip: Industrial Engineering student (Cum Laude) – Luke Wait

Best NDip: Operations Management graduate (Cum Laude) – Lucien Delmar Bakker

Best Btech: Industrial Engineering graduates (Cum Laude) – Luke Wait

                                                                                          Gloria Kavita

                                                                                          Odwa Namntu

                                                                                          Jason Meyer

Best Btech: Operations Management students – Dennis Wiggil

Best Btech: Quality student – Mbuyiseli Hlazo


Women in Engineering Leadership Association (WELA)

Department of Civil Engineering – Lavina Yuyada

Department of Industrial Engineering – Nwabisa Majamana

Department of Electrical Engineering – Abongile Ngacu

Department of Mechatronics – Jerusha van den Heever


Bill Cosby said it best when he said that “In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure”. And we can’t agree with him more. And after a night like this, we can see that your desire is alive and well.

Keep up the good work, and now you know what can happen.


Posted on 30 April 2013 14:02:08

Current rating: 0 (0 ratings)

Trackback URL:–-18-April-2013.aspx?culture=en-GB

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
Leave comment

= two + three

Bookmark this page:Add to Twitter Add to Facebook Add to Reddit